About SERS

State Employees' Retirement Board

The Pennsylvania State Employees' Retirement Code entrusts the authority and responsibility of running SERS to an 11-member board that meets eight times per year.

SERS Board Meetings

Board Meeting Livestream - The livestream will not start until the meetings begin.

The SERS board meets six times per year and the meetings are open to the public.

2021 Meeting dates are:

February 23-24, 2021
April 27-28, 2021
June 8-9, 2021
July 27-28, 2021
September 28-29, 2021
December 7-8, 2021

Meetings take place at:

State Employees' Retirement System
30 North Third Street | 5th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17101 
SERS Board Meeting Materials

We'd be happy to e-mail you an agenda before each board meeting and/or a press release after each board meeting concludes. Just sign up!

Meeting agendas, minutes and press releases are available here.

To view board action approved by date, see the list of SERS Board Resolutions.

Board Structure 

Five members are appointed by the Governor, one of whom must be a SERS retiree or eligible to receive payments from a SERS retirement plan. Two members are appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Pennsylvania Senate and two members are appointed by the Speaker of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives. The independently elected Pennsylvania Treasurer and the Governor-appointed Secretary of Banking and Securities serve as ex-officio members of the SERS board during their terms of office. In addition, at least five board members must be actively contributing toward a SERS retirement benefit and at least two board members must have at least 10 years of service with a SERS-participating employer. The Governor selects the chairman of the board from among its members.

SERS board members adhere to an ethical conduct policy and annually file statements of financial interest with the Pennsylvania Ethics Commission.

Current Board Members

Mr. David R. Fillman, Chairman
Reappointed May 10, 2016 by Governor Wolf

Mr. Glenn E. Becker
Reappointed May 10, 2016 by Governor Wolf

The Honorable John M. DiSanto
Reappointed February 1, 2021 by President Pro Tempore Corman, SERS member

The Honorable Dan B. Frankel
Reappointed January 27, 2021 by Speaker Cutler, SERS member

Stacy Garrity
Pennsylvania Treasurer, Inaugurated January 19, 2021, ex-officio

The Honorable Vincent J. Hughes
Reappointed February 3, 2021 by President Pro Tempore Corman, SERS member

Gregory K. Jordan, Former Executive Director Senate Appropriation Committee
Appointed October 3, 2019 by Governor Wolf

The Honorable Paul Schemel
Appointed January 11, 2021 by Speaker Cutler, SERS member

Mary A. Soderberg, Retired Member and Former State Budget Secretary
Appointed June 7, 2016 by Governor Wolf

Gregory C. Thall
Appointed June 18, 2019 by Governor Wolf

Richard Vague
Secretary of Banking and Securities, ex-officio